5 Reasons You Should Fill a Journal Every Month.

Ok, I’m going to guess that there are 3 types of people reading this right now.

The 1st type is saying 1 journal every month? Are you kidding I could do that in my sleep!

The 2nd type is saying are you kidding? Fill 1 journal EVERY month? Do you even have a life??

The 3rd type is saying what’s the point of journaling at all when I could be working on something actually publishable?

Which type are you? Maybe you’re none of them! Let me know in the comments how you reacted when you read the title. 😀

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 5.12.49 PM.png

I am currently reading a book called Writing Down The Bones by Natalie Goldberg. It’s probably the best book on the writing craft I’ve ever read. Anyway, in this book, Natalie talks about how she tries to fill up one notebook a month. I thought that this was an EXTRAORDINARY idea. My dad has always journaled and that’s where I inherited my love for recording my experiences, feelings, and having a safe place to reflect. I owe my love for writing stories and poetry completely to journaling. It has totally shaped my writing routine and how I view myself as a writer.

So, in hopes to fully express how greatly journaling has impacted my life, here are my top 5 reasons why you should fill 1 journal every month. Or in other words, write every day.

  1. You will always be amped for a good writing session after you journal. Sure, opening up the crisp, yet scarily blank pages of a notebook (especially a brand new one) can be daunting, but once you get past a couple pages, your mind will be flowing with ideas.
  2. It gets easier to organize your thoughts the more you journal. If you’re a writer, you know how hard it is the keep all the details straight and to keep your sentences flowing. So take it from me…writing will become easier for you if you journal regularly.
  3. It is the only safe place you have to express how you feel. To write about the gushy stuff and not feel judged…or to even write about nothing at all. For me, sometimes journaling is just talking about how I have nothing to write about at all. In your drafts and other writing projects, you might feel a certain pressure, but with a journal, there’s no pressure because you’re the only one seeing it.
  4. A journal collection is like taking before and after pictures. Think about how good you’ll feel after finishing your 12th journal of the year and going back to read through the first one (not that you have to re-read them, though!)
  5. A journal acts as a mirror.  If you are struggling with your job or you just can’t figure out how to get over a plot hole, writing about yourself can help. Believe me, I know it sucks to “talk” about things, but as a writer, sometimes you need to be able to talk about yourself if you going to be able to write about others.

Thank-you for reading and good luck on your creative journey! Practice daily and success will come.

XO Lydia

Save

Leave a Reply

