Am I a Writer If I Only Write For 10 Minutes a Day? (Or less!)

This past year has been crazy for me. I started 2 new jobs, finished a 8- week certification course, started college, got engaged, planned my wedding, published a book, and re-started my blog.

That being said, my writing time has been pushed to the end of my to-do list. I always know when I’ve neglected my creative side when I’m feeling sad or empty- like something is missing. For some people, writing is fun and exciting. Like every time you go to the page, you are discovering new worlds or maybe just simply more about yourself. For me, writing has always been like the on again- off again friend that won’t stop leaving voicemails. You miss the way the person used to laugh. You miss the way their hair curled, soft and messy. You miss all the little things that made them….them, but at the end of the day when you’re listening to the messages over and over, you realize how much it hurts to have them in your life because of the way they made you feel. But no matter what you do, you just can’t let them go.

 

Writing is a dark, sobering experience for me most of the time. Lately, my mind has been so preoccupied with wedding planning and just overall stress maintenance. In other words, me time = no time. My writing shows that…..or rather the lack thereof shows that.

Just to give you some perspective, it’s 12:14 AM. I just got done doing some college related stuff and decided to watch tv with my fiancé instead of write. So, here I am writing now because it’s been like this all week. I get to about 3 AM and start to feel guilty for not having written yet and end up falling asleep on myself. Here I am. I showed up. Am I writer? Yes YES YES

Did you show up today? It could have been to a journal, a word document, a previous project, or a blog post.

One more question for you, dear reader. Because nobody can answer this question except you. No matter how many words you put down- or didn’t put down…how much time you spent- or didn’t….Answer this:

Are you a writer?

Maybe this quote will help you decide.

“If you can quit, then quit. If you can’t quit, you’re a writer.”

R.A. Salvatore

xo Lydia

 

 

3 thoughts on “Am I a Writer If I Only Write For 10 Minutes a Day? (Or less!)

Leave a Reply

